Our dedicated team of industry professionals and musicians who make up the volunteer jury have adjudicated 27 award categories. The scoring process is based on a rubric consisting of various elements such as artistic merit, composition, originality, production, and accomplishments. Jurors strive to meet the highest standards of professionalism by providing objective scores and feedback based on these above-mentioned factors. This year, the MusicNL Awards Show planning committee selected a long list of 6 top nominees in the following categories: Industry, Genre-Specific, and General Awards. All nominees were scored out of 100, with the long list nominees in the 70-80+ range.





Alternative Artist/Group of the Year
Adam Baxter
Another North
Lie With Wolves
The Proper Things
Youngtree & The Blooms


Electronic Artist/Group of the Year
Dion Todd
Elling Lien (Featuring Dani Bailey)
Rozalind MacPhail


Event of the Year
43rd Annual Newfoundland & Labrador Folk Festival
The Gathering Burlington
Iceberg Alley Performance Tent
Lawnya Vawnya 9
Live at Heart Newfoundland
Mr. H Presents: Make Music Happen


Female Artist of the Year
Carolina East
Heather Bambrick
Danielle Hamel (It Could Be Franky)
Jenina MacGillivray
Rosemary Lawton
Rozalind MacPhail


Folk/Roots Artist/Group of the Year
Christian Howse
Eastern Owl
Jenina MacGillivray
The Kubasonics
Rum Ragged
The Likes of Jeff Pittman


Group of the Year
Another North
Eastern Owl
The Kubasonics
Quote the Raven
Rum Ragged


Industry Professional of the Year
Elling Lien
Greg Smith
Mary Beth Waldram
Michelle LaCour
Roger Lockyer
Tony Murray


Male Artist of the Year
Adam Baxter
Brad Tuck
Christian Howse
David Picco
Thomas Shea (GAME BOY)
Nick Earle


Music Educator of the Year
Adam Baxter
Kacie Callahan
Korona Brophy
Melanie O’Brien
Natasha Blackwood
Rozalind MacPhail


Music Video of the Year
Cicerone – A Night in the Sea (Dir. Mike Simms)
Jason Benoit – Slow Hands ft. Leah Daniels (Dir. Tim Deegan)
Evil Ebenezer & JYAY – Almost Gone (Dir. Luke Connor)
Rachel Cousins – Let Go (Dir. Devin Sooley)
Rum Ragged – Ladies Man (Dir. Michael Lynch)
Weary – Bruise (Dir. Kate Lahey)


Outstanding Company of the Year
Bakeapple Productions
The Citadel House
Foleymore Entertainment
Hartery Music House
The Newfoundland Herald
Stingray Radio


Rising Star of the Year
Christian Howse
Jenina MacGillivray
Nick Earle
Youngtree & The Blooms


Ron Hynes SOCAN Songwriter of the Year
David Picco & Sean Murray (David Picco – Down the Road and Gone)
Joanna Barker & Natasha Blackwood (Eastern Owl – The Drum)
Aley Waterman, Adam Hogan, & Romesh Thavanathan (Galaa – Ender)
Nick Earle (Nick Earle – Breaking New Ground)
Jordan Coaker, Kristen Rodden-Clarke, Chris Kirby, Victoria Howse, Stephen Green, & Keith Mullins (Quote the Raven – Golden Hour)
Peter Smith (Youngtree & The Blooms – She Found Me)


FACTOR Album of the Year
Carolina East – Crossroads
Eastern Owl – Qama’si
Galaa – The Speech
Jenina MacGillivray – Marion
Nick Earle – Breaking New Ground
Rum Ragged – The Hard Times


Please note: Not all categories contained enough submissions to include a long list. Short-listed nominees in the following categories will also be announced at the press conference:

Celtic/Traditional Artist/Group of the Year
Country Artist/Group of the Year
Graphic Artist of the Year
Indigenous Artist of the Year
Inspirational Artist/Group of the Year
Jazz/Blues Artist/Group of the Year
Media Person of the Year
Pop Artist/Group of the Year
Rap/Hip-Hop Artist/Group of the Year
Rock Artist/Group of the Year
Side Musician of the Year
Venue of the Year
Volunteer of the Year



The MusicNL team invites the public, members of MusicNL, 2019 award applicants, industry partners, funders, and media to attend the annual MusicNL Awards press conference at 11:00am on Wed, December 4th at Fred’s Records in Downtown St. John’s. Live music by Nick Earle and Rosemary Lawton. Refreshments to follow

We will announce the short list of the top 3 nominees in over 20 award categories including the newly added Indigenous Artist/Group of the Year! We’ll also announce further details of our upcoming MusicNL Awards Celebration.

Please note: Due to the limited seating capacity at the LSPU Hall, only the short list nominees in the General and Genre-Specific award categories will have access to reserved seating at the Awards Show on January 28. While we value and applaud each and every one of our award nominees for the talent and energy that goes into their craft, we are simply unable to accommodate seating for everyone.

MusicNL is pleased to profile all of our long and short list nominees in our promotional campaign leading up to the MusicNL Awards Celebration.

For more information, call the MusicNL office at (709) 754-2574 or email