MusicNL to present stage at NXNE, June 14, 2018


MusicNL is partnering with NXNE to present a stage at the Club Land Curator Series. NXNE is an annual 10-day summer festival and conference every June in Toronto, featuring: music, gaming, comedy, interactive and more at this packed cultural explosion. NXNE celebrates its 24th year in 2018 and takes over Toronto with showcases, panels, parties, installations, and more. NXNE includes a major free, three-day music festival in the centre of the city at Canada’s biggest street corner, Yonge and Dundas.  NXNE also features comedy, food, art installations and more. NXNE is a partner festival to SXSW in Austin, Texas.

MusicNL will be accepting expressions of interest for a stage taking place on Thursday, June 14, 2017. Submissions will be reviewed by a committee and successful applicants will have the opportunity to perform as a part of NXNE and attend an industry mixer. All applicants will be given assistance to apply to FACTOR for travel funding.

Submissions should demonstrate the applicants’ export-readiness and include a bio, streaming links and an EPK. Submissions are due on April 20th, 2018 at 12pm. Given the short timeline and funding deadlines, the submission period for this opportunity is quite short. The stage will be programmed by committee with an eye to diversity. APPLY HERE!

The Club Land Curators Series, programmed by leading Canadian musicians and organizations, has expanded with over 30 shows throughout the festival week. Club crawlers can look forward to a diverse range of programming including art installations, emerging artist showcases, late night DJ sets and after parties, all in Toronto’s most cherished venues. The Curator series aims to encourage music fans alike to club hop across the city and witness their country’s top talent transform the showcase experience.

The Club Land Curators Series is being programmed by Leah Fay (July Talk), Peter Dreimanis (July Talk), K-OS, Jasmyn Burke (Weaves), Odario Williams (CBC, Grand Analog), Katie Monks (Dilly Dally), Cadence Weapon, Jim Cuddy (Blue Rodeo), Cone (Sum 41), Terra Lightfoot, Ian Blurton (Change of Heart), Moe Berg (Pursuit of Happiness), Ralph, Prince Josh (Prince Innocence), The Elwins, Saya, Josephine Cruz (Jayemkayem, ComplexCA), Kritty Uranowski (Hex, Rock Camp for Girls), Dan Burke (Promoter), A. Side, The City of Brampton, MusicNL, Sask Music and Female Treble.